top of page

The Mystery of the Beatitudes

The Mystery of the Beatitudes

Book Details:






Rozekruis Pers



Publishers Code 


Jan van Rijckenborgh

In the biblical Sermon on the Mount the beatitudes are generally interpreted as promising a future reward for a morally outstanding life. However, Jan van Rijckenborgh’s explanations of this special sermon given by Christ 2000 years ago make it clear that the Beatitudes are far more than simple platitudes. The nine beatitudes confront the spiritual seeker with the ninefold path to true liberation, a path that every determined person can go in self-freemasonry.


In the Biblical ‘Sermon on the Mount’, the Beatitudes have always occupied a special place for the spiritual seeker.  Considered the pillars of the spiritual life expressed by Jesus Christ, Jan van Rijckenborgh takes the reader beyond the obvious moral messages the Beatitudes contain, confronting us with the liberating necessity of soul-rebirth so eloquently hidden in these texts.  

Bringing to light the inner path that must be walked by all those who seek a connection with the Absolute, the author explains in detail the ninefold path to which the nine Beatitudes direct the seeker. Step by step, the spiritual attributes, challenges and accomplishments conveyed by the Beatitudes to the Initiate are described, taking the reader to a new level of understanding and insight that can guide them along this path to the Spirit-Soul Consciousness.

Jan van Rijckenborgh focuses our attention on the foundations of the Beatitudes, which all begin with, ‘Blessed are …’, by reinforcing the spiritual reality that they do not say ‘Blessed shall be …”.  Hence, he places us before the reality, not of an anticipated future, but the spiritual living present, the eternal ‘now’.

Read Quotes from this book...

Blessed are the Poor in Spirit, for Theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven

Blessed are the Meek, for They Shall Inherit the Earth

Blessed are the Pure in Heart, for They Shall See God

bottom of page